Oyo CJ inaugurates a panel of 7 people

Chief Justice of Oyo State, Justice Muntar Abimbola, has inaugurated a seven-man panel to investigate allegations made against the state’s Deputy Governor, Rauf Olaniyan.

It was collected that Judge Abimbola inaugurated the panel on Thursday.

The inauguration followed a letter received from the President directing him to appoint a panel to investigate the Deputy Governor.

Section 188(5) was found to give him the mandate, as Chief Justice of the State, to appoint a seven-person panel to investigate the allegations.

The use of the word “shall” in section 188(5) imposes on the Chief Justice of Oyo State the obligation to appoint a panel of seven people.

It should be recalled that the Assembly had, during its June sitting, served on the Deputy Governor a notice of impeachment for serious misconduct and alleged abuse of power.

However, in the wake of the development, Deputy Governor Rauf Olaniyan approached the lower court to stop his removal.

But on Thursday, Judge Ladiran Akintola of an Oyo State High Court, sitting in Ibadan, dismissed the complaint filed by the state’s deputy governor to stop the state House of Assembly from dismiss him.

In rendering its judgment, the court held that the House of Assembly had not violated the provisions of the constitution on the removal of the governor or deputy governor.

According to the court, the legislators substantially complied with the provisions of section 188 of the Constitution on the recall process. The court said lawmakers should continue with the remand process.

Recall that about 23 lawmakers voted in favor of impeachment when allegations of financial misconduct, insubordination and failure to perform assigned duties were filed against Olaniyan.

In the petition, titled: “Petition and Notice of Allegations Against the Deputy Governor of Oyo State, His Excellency, Engineer Rauf Olaniyan”, he was charged with gross misconduct, abuse of power, of financial recklessness, abandonment of official duties and functions, and insubordination.

“This is in accordance with Section 188 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999 (as amended),” the petition reads in part.

The lawmakers, who signed the petition, included: Fadeyi Muhammed (Ona Ara), Onaolapo Sanjo (Ogbomosho South), Babalola Olasunkanmi (Egbeda), Adebisi Yussuf (Ibadan South West I), Okedoyin Julius (Saki West) and Adebayo Babajide (Ibadan North II).

The others were: Kehinde Olatunde (Akinyele II), Olajide Akintunde (Lagelu), Mustapha Akeem (Kajola), Popoola Ademola (South East Ibadan II), Owolabi Olusola (North East Ibadan II), Olagoke Olamide (North East Ibadan I ), Olayanji Kazeem (Irepo/Olorunsogo) and Ojedokun Peter (Ibarapa North).

The other MPs were: Gbadamosi Saminu (Saki East/Atisbo), Mabaje Adekunle (Iddo), Oluwafowokanmi Oluwafemi (Ibadan South-West II), Akeem Adedibu (Iwajowa), Fatokun Ayo (Akinyele I), Rasak Ademola (Ibadan South-East I), Obadara Akeem (North West Ibadan), Oyekunle Fola (North Ibadan I) and Adetunji Francis (Oluyole).

Comments are closed.